PDA

View Full Version : Looking for info: black Evo 8 with crashed back

kamil
07-13-2004, 12:37 AM
Do you know black 2003 Evo 8 with trashed back which is for sale in California auction? It has some "GT Fabrication" stickers.

EVO GRIM
07-13-2004, 07:02 AM
You're gonna have to give a little more info bro. California is big, 163,707 square miles to be exact.

kamil
07-13-2004, 09:17 AM
It was registered on 1/12/04 in Lakewood, CA.

I know it's little data but just trying to get any info possible from here in Europe.

Buzzard
07-13-2004, 10:05 AM
Lakewood is in Southern CA. Is this a salvaged car? What kind of auction site did you find this car? I have had some experience with car/bike auctions and salvage vehicles. My advice is to not bother unless you have inside info on the car and have a contact with whom ever is running the auction. If the car is a good deal, then it wouldn't even be made public, someone local would have gobbled it up by now. Unless you have the ability to inspect the car or have someone knowledgable to do so, buying a damaged vehicle is very dicey. This is most probably a salvage title, that means the car had sufficient damage that the insurance company wrote it off as a total loss instead of repairing it.

I would be very cautious about buying such a vehicle. Unless you plan on doing a total tear down and build up, this car is probably more trouble than it's worth. It might make a good base for building a dedicated race car though. My friend and I went a similar route when we built his SCCA '80 RX-7 many years ago. We tore the car down to the frame and rebuilt the car from scratch, the frame had to be straightened anyway.

Anyway, this just my opinion based upon my experiences. Good luck if you decide to go forward and pursue this car but be prepared for a larger out of pocket cost than you expect. If you send me a link, I could try to find out if it's a salvage car or not, that's the first step you should take before deciding.

kamil