PDA

View Full Version : Polish your pipes

bdking57
07-29-2004, 01:56 PM
Metal polish + rag =

http://www.flowerhornusa.com/forums/uploads/post-10-1091134246.jpg

These pipes shine up really easy, all the radiator pipes... as well as the intercooler. I still have some roughness on the larger pipes, im going to use some very fine sandpaper to get these out then continue polishing with a metal polish cream.

warpspeed
07-29-2004, 02:06 PM
It looks good. But I believe those pipes has some sort of coating. Once you scrap of the top coat, you will have to keep polishing them more often so you don't get surface rust of oxidation.

MarkSAE
07-29-2004, 10:44 PM
You must be thinking about aluminized steel piping. After you sand off the aluminized coating, it'll start rusting.

The metal parts of our ic pipes are aluminum so they won't rust. There isn't any coating on it either.

EvoVIII
07-29-2004, 11:02 PM
how da hell do u polish that piping? I don't get it... sorry but I am a newbie on this

MarkSAE
07-30-2004, 12:30 PM
how da hell do u polish that piping? I don't get it... sorry but I am a newbie on this

Just go to Kragens, and look in their detailing section. You should be able to find metal polish by Mother's or other brands. All you do is take the polishing compound, wipe it over the surface you want to polish, let it dry for a minute, then wipe/buff it off. It's the same thing as waxing your car.

If you want a shiny mirror like surface, you have to get really fine sand paper and sand all the surface imperfections out before rubbing the polishing compound on. Anything 1500 grit nd up should give you a mirror finish. Polished aluminum tends to get dull looking after a while and will require maintenance to keep shiny.

wrx2evo8
07-31-2004, 02:57 PM
http://registry.evolutionm.net/garage/9345/images/lg_polishedheadercover-xl.jpg

i did that to my heat shield....

warpspeed
07-31-2004, 07:45 PM