PDA

View Full Version : Filling up gas while car still running

Positron
10-10-2007, 01:01 PM
What are your thoughts on this? I've never done this before entirely but I have taken off the gas cap while the car was still turbo timing.

--anonimuz
10-10-2007, 01:03 PM
try it.. it seems like it's gonna die.. might probably also give you check engine light I think (atleast on BMWs)...

MadEvo
10-10-2007, 01:04 PM
What are your thoughts on this? I've never done this before entirely but I have taken off the gas cap while the car was still turbo timing.

I've seen it in done in the Phillipines.

mtsevovii
10-10-2007, 01:04 PM
ive seen ppl do it at the pump...

i just think to myself how to GTFO when SHTF. :lol:

"its NASCAR, man!"

trinydex
10-10-2007, 01:06 PM
manual says you're not supposed to. also there's some pressure related diagnostic or something... i think that gets confused when you fill at idle and causes the car to stumble.

DoggDicker
10-10-2007, 01:06 PM
Urban legend...you're through a CEL...but you don't know until you try...let us now how it works out...

Â* DD

wilson1
10-10-2007, 01:07 PM
never tried it before.....

EVOVIII-WC
10-10-2007, 01:12 PM
Accidentally did that a long time ago and the car stumbled and shut off.

uhoh_evo
10-10-2007, 01:25 PM
Never done it myself but was w/ my homie Gary in his boosted integra. Went to gas station so he could fill up and his Turbo Timer was activated. I got nervous at what might happened but I didn't notice anything.

panem
10-10-2007, 01:32 PM
i always thought that it would f-ing blow up.

uhoh_evo
10-10-2007, 01:50 PM
^LoL! Exactly why I got nervous!

chrisw
10-10-2007, 01:53 PM
In cold weather (like alaska) I can see doing this. But around here there is no point.

panem
10-10-2007, 01:58 PM
i kinda did this with another car and when i just started filling up the car i notice the car was still on so i hella rush to turn off the car. i was like i dont want to die today. the effects of being tired. hahaha