PDA

View Full Version : Lower the car or get 18" rims?

1stSAGE
12-18-2004, 09:35 PM
Any recommendations? Which will look better/drive better without losing too much stock performance for an MR?

MarkSAE
12-18-2004, 10:43 PM
Lower it! IMO, the stock ride height looks hideous!

jeffreywrc
12-19-2004, 11:24 PM
If your budget is limited...
I would like to recommend TEIN S.TECH low spring.
because not expensive but a little bit jumpy......
It makes you car pretty low(about 1 finger to the front fender)
But if u r going to track........not so good

jbigelow
12-19-2004, 11:52 PM
lowering your car with a nice coilover suspension is a better investment. IMHO

BluEvo
12-20-2004, 11:23 AM
get coilovers. if it's just for the steet and looks, i would get the Tein Basic or SS setup. not as expensive as the other coilovers and it gets you low and to the point.

T

1stSAGE
12-20-2004, 01:40 PM
Cool, thanks for the advice. What is the advantage of coilovers? I'm totally new to this so I don't really know what's out there. It's mainly for the street look. And I do agree that in stock form, the car is just a lil too high.

If I were to go with the Tein S. Tech would I need to change anything else besides the springs? How well would these go with the stock MR? Does the ride get rougher or is about the same?

What is the difference between coilovers and the Tein in terms of cost?

GReddy_917
12-21-2004, 08:13 PM
i agree with Terrence...but I also noticed you drive and MR...so perhaps a set of Zeals would be a good idea as well.

V8KiLL3R
12-21-2004, 08:56 PM
i had the tein s tech and it rides a bit bumpy but then again it eliminates the 4x4 look :)

vtluu
12-22-2004, 12:03 AM