PDA

View Full Version : Evo X SST owner review

wilson1
07-03-2008, 02:55 PM
From SCE (http://www.socalevo.net/index.php?option=com_smf&Itemid=37&topic=61657.30#quickreply)

Congratulations!

Mark, I know you probably don't have a lot of seat time yet, but what are you initial impressions of the SST? So far most of the automotive press is fawning all over it. Would be curious to get your thoughts.

Thanks

Well, I will try to tell you what I think. So far the car has 290 miles on it. We drove it up from south coast and then around WLA. Today though, I finally got to drive the car. We went up to Angeles Crest and drove up to Mount Wilson. Now, I have been driving up there for 25 years and have to say it was kinda surreal. I have never had an automatic car in my life. I even ordered my Ford Explorer suv with a 5 speed manual. Going into a fast decreasing radius sweeper at 80 and having the tranny do perfect rev matched downshifts without me doing anything is just... freaky.

Okay, so you put it in sport mode and it tries to hang onto the gear your in unlike any auto I have ever driven. The car really just doesn't act like an auto. On the other hand, you do get some neg auto features:

I could get it to downshift and make noise for a second before there was any power in "normal" mode. Sport mode, most of the time, you have instant full power like a manual. It uses engine braking most of the time like you would with a manual as in the case of going downhill into a corner instead of just lugging into it like most auto trannys. This is the first auto I have ever driven that you can drive really fast in corners and braking and the tranny doesn't slow you down or upset the car.

If you use the paddle shifter to say, drop a gear in the middle of a corner, it blips the rpm as it shifts and there is no upsetting of the balance as your sliding through the corner. This is a bit of a relevation for me :)