PDA

View Full Version : Evo vs. SC'd S2000 curiosities

Nobodyx
09-05-2005, 07:35 PM
Hey guys,
I've been tracking a SC'd S2000 for a couple years (about 4 HPDEs a year) and recently bought an Evo as my street car. Of course, I couldn't resist and the mods have already begun (Robi-spec suspension, SS lines, shift bushing kit, rear brace, some minor weight reduction). I've tracked the Evo once (BW #13, before any mods) and pulled some decent times, but am still a ways away from the my times in the Honda. Though it has some deficiencies, the Evo is an awesome car out of the box and has got me wondering if i can be made even faster than my S with just a few bolt-ons. I've got a few questions that will help me determine what direction I should go with the Evo:

1: What are the fastest Evos pulling at BW (14, 1 or 13) or TH?

2: How reliable is the car with, say, a Vishnu v390 tune? I know a few guys have blown Evos at the track (including Shiv), but I'm not sure how extreme their tuning was.

3: How the hell do you get rid of the understeer? I was doing pendulum turns at BW to compensate, but would rather just get rid of the push than drift my way through the cotton corners.

4: Brake ducting solutions? (I have a 100mph poltergeist of a cone emblazoned on my bumper due to brake failure and would not like to see what kind of image cement would make at that speed.)

Thanks

leif
09-05-2005, 07:48 PM
i have like 6 days on my v390 package, and my friends all have about the same and they run flawlessly before, during and after the track day.

also shiv has never 'blown a car up' at the track.

Evo442
09-05-2005, 08:35 PM