PDA

View Full Version : Clutch install day...

evo8jedi
02-14-2006, 06:29 PM
Hey guys, I know I've never really been a NorCal Guy I kinda fell out of the SoCal thing too since I've been living in Japan for the past year.. but I came back the other day to come to my car and find the clutch has problems... Mitsu thinks the pressure plate is shot and I'm not down on paying 900+ bucks for the labor itself... I'm having a clutch and flywheel and everything fedexed up from San Diego and Hoping to do the install come Friday if possible, or as soon as it gets here, but no later than friday.. is there anybody in the Modesto area thats free Thursday Friday time frame and wanna Tear off the tranny and do a clutch with me? I do buy beer... :D

mynameizstitch
02-14-2006, 06:37 PM
I would help you out but i've never done a clutch install before 8)

earlyapex
02-14-2006, 06:42 PM
Whoever is quoting you $900 on just labor for a clutch install is ripping you off big f'in time.

mynameizstitch
02-14-2006, 06:50 PM
Whoever is quoting you $900 on just labor for a clutch install is ripping you off big f'in time.

+1

mchagsingog
02-14-2006, 07:47 PM

+1

:werd:

Matz
02-14-2006, 07:57 PM

$900??? That's a steal! Two Mitsu dealerships quoted me $120 / hr, and I think it was like 10 hours total. :shock:

lqdchkn
02-14-2006, 09:19 PM

$900??? That's a steal! Two Mitsu dealerships quoted me $120 / hr, and I think it was like 10 hours total. :shock:

My dealer quoted the same price but 8hrs

earlyapex
02-14-2006, 11:32 PM
I wouldn't trust a dealer to do my clutch install. Plus, as you can see, they rip you off, if it takes them 8 or 10 hrs to do a clutch install, they have no right doing one.

nebolic
02-15-2006, 12:14 AM
I wouldn't trust a dealer to do my clutch install. Plus, as you can see, they rip you off, if it takes them 8 or 10 hrs to do a clutch install, they have no right doing one.

you do realize that there is industry standard book that they quote labor jobs by right?