PDA

View Full Version : New toy (nav system)

vtluu
04-20-2004, 11:24 PM
I've been eyeing one of these for a couple months now and wanting a nav system for years. Today I finally ordered one:

http://www.avic-n1.com
http://pioneerelectronics.com/pna/product/detail/0,,2076_3151_64850099,00.html

This thing is way cool: it's an in-dash-LCD DVD-based navigation system, can play DVDs, can play MP3/WMA CDs (it offloads your current route into memory so you can eject the navigation DVD) and serve as a vehicle dynamics display (cornering speed, lateral/longitudinal g-forces). I can't wait to get it installed!

http://pioneerelectronics.com/pio/pe/images/portal/cit_3442/64850099AVIC-N1_open_big.jpg

warpspeed
04-20-2004, 11:31 PM
Just out or curiousity. How much did it set you back? I am also shopping around for one. Got my eyes on the Clarion.

Black_EVO
04-20-2004, 11:37 PM
That's a very nice unit. Let me know how the sound quality is. I'm a huge Eclipse (fujitsu-ten) fan myself and have not been partial to pioneer. Eclipse also has a DVD nav system. I have not seen one that measures lat g's etc. Pretty cool :)

DB8GSR
04-20-2004, 11:37 PM
LoL!! I've been eye balling the same nav system as well for the past week and can't decide if I should get a nav or a set of rims. lmao!!

Good for you tam! :D

vtluu
04-20-2004, 11:39 PM
MSRP is $2k, got mine for $1585 + $30 shipping (minus 1% cash back from my credit card, so just under $1600 shipped)

Here's the Ebay link; still 12 available: http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&category=67772&item=3092892306&rd=1

warpspeed
04-20-2004, 11:53 PM
Cool. That's pretty cheap. I want to check it out at the next meet.

BUDLoNG
04-21-2004, 01:20 AM
does the face detatch? id hate to leave something worth that much in my ride....
BUDLoNG

vtluu
04-21-2004, 02:08 AM
Yes, the face detaches. I wonder how obvious the motorized LCD screen is, though. :?

SouthernCrane
04-21-2004, 07:18 AM