Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Newbie question about slow driving (like backing up)

Default Newbie question about slow driving (like backing up)

I'm pretty new to manual cars and i was wondering if slipping the clutch was the only way to really back up and park in tight situations. If there is another more clutch-friendly way, please enlighten me. :?

vtluu Guest

The (stock) clutch is designed to slip for this very purpose. You won't smoke it unless you let it slip that way for a long time, or slip it while revving pretty high (trust me, I know ops. For example, you shouldn't slip your clutch to hold your position while "stopped" at a light on a hill. And if you're stuck in bumper-to-bumper traffic, leave a bit more distance in front of you so you can have a little room to roll, clutch fully engaged, in the appropriate gear (might be 1st or 2nd depending how slow things are moving) without having to hit the brakes or feather the clutch.

Default Re: Newbie question about slow driving (like backing up)

Quote Originally Posted by Tokoro
    I'm pretty new to manual cars and i was wondering if slipping the clutch was the only way to really back up and park in tight situations. If there is another more clutch-friendly way, please enlighten me. :?
    Here's a more clutch-friendly approach:

1. Find parking spot.
    2. Pull up so you're in front of it.
    3. Turn car off.
    4. Leave the gear shifter thingy (it's stick with a leather wrapped ball thingy on top of it) in the middle so it's not in a gear. It should be able to move freely from left to right.
    5. Do NOT remove the key from ignition! You'll see why in step 7.
    6. Look for traffic behind you first. Then open driver side door.
    7. Stick your left foot out and use it to push your car back into the space while steering.
    8. Use your right foot to apply the brake (pedal in the MIDDLE!) accordingly.
    9. Wash.
    10. Rinse.
    11. Repeat.

:shock:
    Quote Originally Posted by "bdking57"