PDA

View Full Version : Question about ECU flash



evoboy05
06-18-2007, 01:05 PM
Does any one know if the ECU fash andy uses for tuning has a 2 step rev limiter that you can program like how the xede does. Just wondering.

earlyapex aka jack ass
06-18-2007, 01:08 PM
Every evo has a launch limiter built into the ECU. It works when the car is at 0 mph and the clutch is pushed in.

03-04 had this feature but set above the rev limiter, basically turning it off. 05+ has it set at 5,000 rpm. Depending on the mods, you can build 8-10psi at the line with this factory limiter.

With EcuFlash you can set it at whatever RPM you wish.

O3EVO
06-18-2007, 01:11 PM
Good piece of information...

evoboy05
06-18-2007, 03:06 PM
Thanks for the info. I found out i had the feature by accident.

UCB
06-18-2007, 03:20 PM
Just think of it as built in launch control to keep the turbo spooled

steevo8
06-18-2007, 03:46 PM
sounds cool as hell too :-)

UCB
06-18-2007, 05:27 PM
werd, scares ricers and small children

oneillevo
06-21-2007, 01:50 PM
So for an 03 VIII guy like myself I would need to get EcuFlash or Xede to program the rev limiter? I know stupid question, its just this whole time I thought I would need to buy a stutter box.

UCB
06-21-2007, 01:51 PM
ecu flash is all you need, you can lower it to whatever you want

chrisw
06-21-2007, 01:54 PM
Every evo has a launch limiter built into the ECU. It works when the car is at 0 mph and the clutch is pushed in.

03-04 had this feature but set above the rev limiter, basically turning it off. 05+ has it set at 5,000 rpm. Depending on the mods, you can build 8-10psi at the line with this factory limiter.

With EcuFlash you can set it at whatever RPM you wish.


what tables do you modify? *can you post an example?

UCB
06-21-2007, 02:02 PM
Go to limits>stationary limits

Evo9s are at 5000rpm from the factory as Bryan stated

turbotiger
06-21-2007, 02:03 PM
Every evo has a launch limiter built into the ECU. It works when the car is at 0 mph and the clutch is pushed in.

03-04 had this feature but set above the rev limiter, basically turning it off. 05+ has it set at 5,000 rpm. Depending on the mods, you can build 8-10psi at the line with this factory limiter.

With EcuFlash you can set it at whatever RPM you wish.


what tables do you modify? can you post an example?


The one that says Stationary Rev Limit

earlyapex aka jack ass
06-21-2007, 02:23 PM
what tables do you modify? can you post an example?



Here you go:

http://www.norcalmotorsports.org/users/bryan/mods/EVO/tech/stock_launch_limiter.jpg

oneillevo
06-21-2007, 02:26 PM
lol omg that easy? geez, lol i need to learn up on ecuflash.

earlyapex aka jack ass
06-21-2007, 02:32 PM
lol omg that easy? geez, lol i need to learn up on ecuflash.


Yes, just be careful what you wish for. ;)

oneillevo
06-21-2007, 03:10 PM
Well, if I am just trying to set the rev limiter will I need a whole set-up (things besides EcuFlash) or if I can find SOMEONE (*AHEM*) who can kindly set it for me?

earlyapex aka jack ass
06-21-2007, 03:13 PM
Sure, come on by sometime and I can set it for you. :)

oneillevo
06-21-2007, 03:21 PM
Will do -

turbotiger
06-21-2007, 03:27 PM
Just make sure whatever you do, don't take someone else's flash and flash it over yours.
You'll find out that the immobilizer code gets overwritten and you won't be able to start your car.

UCB
06-21-2007, 03:38 PM
yeah....you are supposed to change that ;)